What Does the Restricted button On Facebook Mean - the Easy Way

Rationale of social media sites is that first word, social. To meet existing friends, satisfy brand-new ones and find out more about people generally. There is constantly that one friend who frequently pesters you with demands, talk about your every post or update, sends you invitations to play whatever video game they are playing or links to lame offers. If you know a person like that, you might would like to know What Does The Restricted Button On Facebook Mean.

What Does The Restricted Button On Facebook Mean

What Does The Restricted Button On Facebook Mean


The Facebook Restricted List
So what is the Facebook restricted list and also what can it provide for you? As mentioned over, most of us have Facebook friends that are extra colleagues than friends and also who we don't want to know or have the ability to talk about our every activity on Facebook. That's where a restricted list comes in.

Like when you ask your pals to not share your location or new pastime or job with an ex lover, or when you desire avoid unfriending your manager yet don't want them to understand everything that's going on in your life. That's when the restricted list comes into its own.

Here is how to add a person to your Facebook restricted list.

  1. Open up Facebook as well as log in.

  2. Select the friend you intend to contribute to the list and also most likely to their account page.

  3. Select the Friends dropdown box in their account picture.

  4. Select Add to list.

  5. Select Restricted. A tick ought to appear next to it to inform you it has actually been contributed to the list.


Once you have actually added someone to your Facebook restricted list they will only be able to see updates you have revealed. If you intend to quit them seeing certain articles or updates, tag those for friends only. After that whomever is on your list will not get to see them.

To quit a person seeing your post, do this:

  1. Write or produce your post as typical.

  2. Select the Public box in the bottom right of the update.

  3. Change from Public to Friends.


You also have the alternative to utilize 'Friends except' which even more improves who can see your update as well as who can not. This can additionally work if you do not desire a person specific to see an update or upload. It won't stop them having the ability to check out if from someone else's Facebook page but will quit it showing up on their own.

If you're utilizing a phone, the procedure of adding a person to your Facebook restricted list is slightly various.

  1. Open the Facebook application on your phone as well as log in.

  2. Browse to the profile of the person you want to add to the list.

  3. Select the Friends icon as well as select Edit Friends list.

  4. Select Restricted at the bottom of the display.

  5. Select Done.


The end result coincides as well as the setup will of course copy across the site in addition to for mobile customers.

The Facebook Restricted List and Business Pages
If you take care of a Facebook service web page as well as somebody is being aggravating, you can limit accessibility to that page as well. This is typically important to protect against a troll or jerk from affecting just how other people visiting your page view your company.

Personal web pages are something, a business page is rather the other. Any kind of debate, negativeness, trolling or basic stupidness can influence how people see you and/or your business so needs to be put down quickly.

  1. Open up Facebook and also log in.

  2. Navigate to your business page.

  3. Select Settings in the leading right and choose People and Other Pages.

  4. Check package beside the person you want to block from your company web page.
  5. Select the small gear icon in the leading right.

  6. Select Ban from Page and afterwards Confirm.


That person should currently no longer have the ability to post anything on your page. You can additionally hide any type of comments they might have made prior to too many individuals see them.

  1. Navigate to your business page.
  2. Select over the comment you intend to erase and also pick the 3 dots.
  3. Select Hide Comment and do just that.
  4. You can additionally after that pick Ban USERNAME to stop them commenting additionally if you do not wish to block them.


The Facebook restricted list is an extremely useful device in controlling who can see as well as talk about your web page, whether individual or service. Regardless of having actually remained in place for some time currently, extremely few people I have actually spoken with also understand of its existence. If you're having issues with a 'friend' or Facebook user, a minimum of you now understand just how to regulate them.

Got any other Facebook restricted list ideas? Tell us concerning them listed below if you do!