How to Close My Account On Facebook - Permanent and Temporary

How To Close My Account On Facebook - Facebook has 2 means to disable your account. One is relatively easy to fix and the other is long-term. You can deactivate an account and after that later reactivate it. While it's deactivated, people can not see your timeline or search for you, though some info, such as messages you sent, may still be visible.

If you erase your account, it's gone for life and also can not be reactivated. Facebook states that they "delay deletion a few days after it’s requested" and that a deletion request is canceled if you log back right into your account throughout that period. They further say that it can use up to 90 days to remove information stored in backup systems.

How To Close My Account On Facebook

How To Close My Account On Facebook


To deactivate an account (with choice to reactivate later):

  1. Click the down arrow at top left of any web page.

  2. Select Settings.

  3. Click in the general tab in left column.

  4. Select Manage Account.

  5. Scroll to Deactivate your account.

  6. Click Deactivate your account.

  7. You are after that called for to enter your password.



How To Close My Account On Facebook

To permanently close your account:

You require to click here to inform Facebook of your objective to close your account and afterwards pick Remove My Account.

How To Close My Account On Facebook

How to delete or deactivate a Facebook account - what's the difference?

There are 2 various methods to get your Facebook account offline. The very first is shutting down, which implies:.

  • You can reactivate your account whenever you want.

  • People can't see your Facebook Timeline, or look for you.

  • Some info might stay visible (like messages you've sent out).

  • Facebook conserves your account details (like pals and also passions) in case you reactivate.


Yet deleting your account is a much more significant matter. If you delete your account:

  • Facebook hold-ups removal for a few days after the request is made. If you log in throughout the grace period, the deletion is cancelled.

  • You can not reclaim access to your Facebook account when it's removed.

  • It can use up to 90 days for your data that's saved in back-up systems to be removed. Nonetheless, your info isn't accessible on Facebook during this time.

  • Some things aren't stored in your account, like messages that you've sent to close friends-- these will stay active.

  • Duplicates of some material (like log records) may remain in Facebook's database, yet are "separated from individual identifiers," according to the company.


Generally, shutting off is a method to cool off from Facebook for some time, while removing is a long-term remedy that you must believe carefully concerning in the past picking.