How Do I Close My Facebook - Permanent and Temporary

How Do I Close My Facebook - Facebook has two methods to disable your account. One is relatively easy to fix and the various other is long-term. You can deactivate an account and then later on reactivate it. While it's deactivated, people can not see your timeline or look for you, though some details, such as messages you sent out, may still show up.

If you delete your account, it's gone forever and can not be reactivated. Facebook states that they "delay deletion a few days after it’s requested" and that a removal demand is terminated if you log back into your account throughout that duration. They additionally say that it can occupy to 90 days to remove information kept in backup systems.

How Do I Close My Facebook

How Do I Close My Facebook


To deactivate an account (with choice to reactivate later):

  1. Click the down arrowhead at top left of any kind of web page.

  2. Select Settings.

  3. Click in the general tab in left column.

  4. Select Manage Account.

  5. Scroll to Deactivate your account.

  6. Click Deactivate your account.

  7. You are then called for to enter your password.



How Do I Close My Facebook

To completely close your account:

You need to click here to alert Facebook of your intention to close your account and afterwards pick Delete My Account.

How Do I Close My Facebook

How to delete or deactivate a Facebook account - what's the difference?

There are 2 different ways to get your Facebook account offline. The initial is shutting down, which means:.

  • You can reactivate your account whenever you desire.

  • People can't see your Facebook Timeline, or search for you.

  • Some details might stay noticeable (like messages you have actually sent out).

  • Facebook saves your account details (like close friends and interests) in case you reactivate.


Yet removing your account is a far more significant matter. If you delete your account:

  • Facebook delays deletion for a couple of days after the demand is made. If you log in throughout the grace period, the removal is terminated.

  • You can not restore access to your Facebook account when it's deleted.

  • It can occupy to 90 days for your information that's kept in back-up systems to be erased. Nevertheless, your information isn't easily accessible on Facebook during this time around.

  • Some points aren't kept in your account, like messages that you've sent out to buddies-- these will stay energetic.

  • Duplicates of some material (like log records) might continue to be in Facebook's data source, however are "separated from personal identifiers," according to the company.


Essentially, shutting down is a means to cool down from Facebook for a while, while removing is a long-term solution that you must assume meticulously about in the past selecting.