Closing Facebook Account - Permanent and Temporary

Closing Facebook Account - Facebook has 2 methods to disable your account. One is relatively easy to fix as well as the various other is irreversible. You can deactivate an account and afterwards later on reactivate it. While it's deactivated, individuals can't see your timeline or look for you, though some info, such as messages you sent, might still be visible.

If you remove your account, it's gone forever as well as can not be reactivated. Facebook says that they "delay deletion a few days after it’s requested" which a removal request is canceled if you log back right into your account throughout that period. They further say that it can take up to 90 days to erase information kept in backup systems.

Closing Facebook Account

Closing Facebook Account


To deactivate an account (with option to reactivate later on):

  1. Click the down arrowhead at leading left of any kind of web page.

  2. Select Settings.

  3. Click in the general tab in left column.

  4. Select Manage Account.

  5. Scroll down to Deactivate your account.

  6. Click Deactivate your account.

  7. You are then required to enter your password.



Closing Facebook Account

To permanently close your account:

You require to click here to alert Facebook of your intention to shut your account and then select Delete My Account.

Closing Facebook Account

How to delete or deactivate a Facebook account - what's the difference?

There are 2 various ways to get your Facebook account offline. The initial is shutting down, which means:.

  • You can reactivate your account whenever you want.

  • Individuals can't see your Facebook Timeline, or look for you.

  • Some info might continue to be visible (like messages you have actually sent).

  • Facebook conserves your account information (like friends and also rate of interests) in case you reactivate.


But removing your account is a a lot more serious issue. If you delete your account:

  • Facebook hold-ups removal for a couple of days after the request is made. If you log in during the grace period, the removal is cancelled.

  • You can't gain back access to your Facebook account once it's erased.

  • It can occupy to 90 days for your information that's stored in backup systems to be removed. Nonetheless, your details isn't easily accessible on Facebook throughout this time around.

  • Some things aren't kept in your account, like messages that you've sent out to buddies-- these will certainly stay active.

  • Duplicates of some material (like log records) might stay in Facebook's data source, yet are "uncoupled from individual identifiers," according to the business.


Basically, shutting off is a means to cool off from Facebook for a while, while deleting is a long-term service that you must assume meticulously concerning in the past choosing.